The Most Commonly Used Oklahoma Lease Agreements
In Oklahoma, the most commonly used lease agreements are the standard lease agreement (which is good for a term of 12 months), a month-to-month lease agreement, a lease to own agreement, a roommate agreement, and a commercial lease agreement.
How to Write a Standard Oklahoma Lease Agreement
In Oklahoma, many standard lease agreement often change to month-to-month agreements at the end of the lease. However, all lease agreements must comply with Oklahoma’s landlord-tenant laws. Here’s the information you should include in a standard Oklahoma lease agreement:
- The legal name of the owner and the tenants
- The name of any broker or property management company acting on behalf of the landlord
- The physical address of the property (including the city and zip code)
- A description of the property
- The date the lease agreement starts
- The date the lease agreement ends
- The amount of the rent that must be paid each month, the address the rent should be sent to, the day of the month rent should be received, the date when rent is considered late, the amount of any late fee, and the amount of any NSF fee
- A statement that if the rent is not paid, the tenant will be given a five day notice to move or that the legal eviction process will begin
- The amount of the security deposit paid by the tenant
- Whether pets are allowed and, if so, if there is a pet deposit and any pet restrictions
- The legal use of the premises
- Whether the tenant can smoke on the premises
- Which utilities will be paid by the tenant and which (if any) should be paid by the landlord
- List the names and ages of the occupants
- A space to list two emergency contacts for the tenants
- How the tenant may request repairs
- Whether there’s a homeowner’s association
- Whether subletting is allowed
- A clause discussing whether the tenant should have renter’s insurance
- A space to have addresses for both the tenant and the landlord to receive legal notices
- How the property may be surrendered
- What happens in the event the lease is broken
An Oklahoma standard lease agreement should be signed and dated by both the landlord and the tenant. If there is a property management company, a representative should also sign the lease. All involved parties should keep a signed copy of the agreement for their records.
What Disclosures Must Be Made in Oklahoma Lease Agreements?
Under Oklahoma law, landlords are required to disclose whether the property flooded at any time during the last five years. Landlords must disclose the identity of any person allowed to act on their behalf related to the property. If the residential unit was built before 1978, the landlord is required to provide a lead paint disclosure.
Landlords must provide the tenant with at least one day of notice before entering the property for a non-emergency.
What You Need to Know about Oklahoma Lease Deposits
There is no maximum on the amount that landlords may request as a security deposit. However, the landlord must return the security deposit within 30 days of the end of the lease.