Create a Montana Lease Agreement with our attorney-drafted template!
A Montana lease agreement is a written agreement between the property owner and the person wanting to lease the property. The parties are referred to as the landlord and the tenant. All Montana lease agreements must abide by the state’s landlord-tenant laws.
The most commonly used Montana lease agreements are a standard residential lease agreement, a month to month lease agreement, a lease to own agreement, a roommate agreement, a sublease agreement, and a commercial lease agreement.
A standard Montana lease agreement is generally in effect for one year. It is for residential properties that are for lease. To write a standard Montana lease agreement, you’ll need:
Both the landlord and the tenant must sign the lease in order for it to be legally binding. Once the Montana lease agreement is executed, both the landlord and the tenant should keep a copy of it for their records.
There are several disclosures that must be made in a Montana lease agreement. The first is a mold disclosure. The landlord must state in the agreement that, to the best of their knowledge, they have no knowledge of existing mold on the premises.
The next disclosure actually a move-in checklist. Before the landlord can receive a security deposit from the tenant, the landlord and the tenant must inspect the property together for pre-existing damage.
The landlord must identify any person that has their authority to enter the rental property. The name of authorized agents must be in the lease. Additionally, Montana lease agreements must list an address where the landlord may receive notices from the tenant.
The landlord must give the tenant at least 24 hours’ notice before entering the premises.
Federal law states that a lead paint disclosure must be given to tenants when a residential property was built prior to 1978.
There is no limit on how much money a landlord may request as a security deposit. However, the money must be returned to the tenant with 10 days of them vacating the property if there were no deductions made. If the landlord used some of the money to fix the property, they must return the remaining money along with an itemized statement within 30 days.