A rental application collects information from all applicants in a uniform and organized manner that conforms with federal fair housing and anti-discrimination laws and Montana landlord-tenant laws to protect applicants. These are documents that must conform to federal laws and work to protect applicants and landlords. Landlords generally charge a non-refundable fee per applicant to process these applications. Usually, the fee is less than $100.
Need a roommate? Then you need a roommate agreement! Download a roommate agreement now!
Creating a Montana rental application is an essential process that landlords and property managers should not skip. The document must comply with both federal fair housing laws as well as state landlord-tenant laws. It is crucial to get accurate information from the applicant so that you can perform the necessary credit check, background check, and criminal history check before you make a decision. When writing a rental application form to use, include the following sections:
As a Montana renter who is a party to a rental agreement, it may feel like the landlord has all the rights. Here are some valuable tips and websites for Montana renters:
The State of Montana does not limit the amount of security deposits; however, the state sets time limits that landlords must follow when it comes to returning a security deposit to a tenant. According to state law, a landlord must return the tenant’s security deposit within 30 days. If there are no deductions or fees taken out from the deposit, it is due back to the tenant no later than ten days after they move out of the rental unit.