In New Jersey, month to month lease agreements allow landlords to set up an at-will tenancy with a renter. This means that the terms of the agreement are carried only for one month, however, the agreement renews at the beginning of each month until either the landlord or the tenant terminates the lease in writing. These types of agreements are ideal for tenants who perhaps relocate often perhaps for work, and for landlords who enjoy the flexibility of an open-ended lease. Similar to long term agreements, month to month leases have much of the same language laying out information on rent due dates, late fees, parking provisions and other information pertinent to living on the property. Once either the tenant or landlord is ready to terminate the lease, he or she will submit a written termination letter to the other party no later than 30 days before the termination will become effective.
New Jersey Month to Month Lease Laws - § 2A: 18-56
Minimum Termination Period - 30 Days
In New Jersey, a tenancy at will, or month to month lease agreement must be terminated via written notice 30 days before the effective date.