Make a Free South Carolina Lease Agreement

Create a South Carolina Lease Agreement with our attorney-drafted template!

Create South Carolina Lease Agreement

What Is a South Carolina Lease Agreement?

A South Carolina lease agreement is a written contract that enables a tenant to lease the listed property from the landlord in exchange for a monthly payment. All South Carolina lease agreements must be written in accordance to the Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.

The Most Commonly Used South Carolina Lease Agreements

The most commonly used South Carolina lease agreements are a standard one year residential lease agreement, a month to month lease, a roommate agreement, a lease with an option to buy agreement, and a commercial lease agreement.

How to Write a Standard South Carolina Lease Agreement

A standard South Carolina lease agreement must include:

  • The name and address of the landlord and any agent the landlord has that may act on their behalf
  • The name of the tenant
  • The address of the leased property
  • The city and county of the leased property
  • The date the agreement is created
  • The type of property
  • The names of every occupant for the property
  • The starting and ending date of the lease agreement
  • The amount of rent that will be paid over the life of the lease, the amount that will be paid each month, and where the rent payment may be made
  • When rent is considered late
  • The amount of any late fee and NSF fee
  • The amount of security deposit paid
  • Notice of access for premises inspection
  • Whether pets are allowed
  • The steps the tenant takes to request maintenance
  • Pest control specifics
  • Whether the tenant must get their own insurance
  • Whether the tenant may sublet the premises
  • The utilities the tenant is expected to pay
  • Addresses for the tenant and landlord for legal notices
  • How military tenants may end their lease if necessary because of a change in orders

The lease agreement must be signed by the landlord, the tenant, and witnesses. The signatures should be dated.

What Disclosures Must Be Made in South Carolina Lease Agreements?

The landlord must make certain disclosures in South Carolina lease agreements:

The landlord must provide 24 hour notice before entering the premises.

What You Need to Know about South Carolina Lease Agreements

There’s no limit on what a landlord may charge as a security deposit. The deposit must be returned to the landlord 30 days after the end of the lease.

Download a PDF or Word Template

South Carolina Lease Agreement

South Carolina Month to Month

South Carolina Sub-Lease

South Carolina Rental Application