In South Carolina, a month to month lease is a legal agreement that lays out the specifications of an at-will tenancy agreement between a tenant and a landlord. This type of agreement differs from a long term agreement due to the fact that it does not require a full year commitment, but rather only requires a one-month commitment. Once the month has passed, the contract will renew and the tenant will pay rent once again. This process will continue until either the tenant or the landlord cancels the lease. Month to month agreements are very flexible and open-ended, allowing great flexibility to the landlord and the tenant. This document lays out the terms of the agreement such as when rent payments are due, rent amount, the rules of tenancy, and other pertinent terms of tenancy. In order to terminate a month to month lease agreement, the landlord or tenant must present a termination letter at least 30 days in advance.
South Carolina Month to Month Lease Laws - § 27-40-770
Minimum Termination Period - 30 Days
In South Carolina, tenants and landlords who wish to terminate a month to month lease must submit such a letter at least 30 days in advance. In addition, this letter, also known as a Notice to Quit must be submitted in writing to the other party.