Create a Virginia Lease Agreement with our attorney-drafted template!
A Virginia lease agreement documents a legal agreement between the landlord and the tenant for the property mentioned in the agreement. The lease explains the amount of time that the tenant is authorized to use the property, how much the tenant will pay each month, and how the property may be used. All Virginia lease agreements must comply with the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.
The most commonly used Virginia lease agreements are the annual standard lease agreement, the lease to own agreement, a month-to-month lease agreement, a roommate agreement, a sublease agreement, and a commercial lease agreement.
A standard Virginia lease agreement is the most commonly used leases for residential units. They usually last a year. They’re usually good for a period of one year. You need the following to create this sort of lease:
A Virginia lease agreement must be signed and dated by both the tenant and the landlord.
There are several disclosures that must be included in a Virginia lease agreement:
The landlord must give 24 hours of notice even for repairs unless the tenant makes the request.
The landlord may not charge more than two months of rent as a security deposit. The landlord must return the security deposit to the tenant within 45 days of the end of tenancy.