Florida month-to-month residential lease agreements are governed by Florida Statutes Chapter 83 Landlord and Tenant Part II Residential Tenancies. State law does not limit the amount that a landlord may charge as a security deposit. However, according to §83.49, landlords must return the security deposit within 15 to 60 days of the move out, depending on whether the tenant disputes any of the deductions removed from the deposit. This list of deductions must be sent to the renter via certified mail.
Landlords and property managers must understand federal law and Florida law. They should seek legal advice before entering into a month-to-month rental agreement with a renter.
Under Florida Statutes §83.57, the notice period for a month-to-month lease must be at least 15 days before the month ends. According to state law, the 15 days notice must be a written notice to vacate the property.