A month to month lease agreement in the state of Georgia is a legal document that landlords use to officiate the agreement implemented between them and a tenant. In these agreements, the tenant will pay rent for the month and will reside in the property for the month that the lease is valid. Unlike most agreements, a month to month lease agreement will automatically renew at the beginning of each month unless it is canceled by either the landlord or the tenant. Month to month lease agreements can be extremely beneficial for both the tenant and the landlord in the sense that neither party is locked into a long term agreement. If the landlord has issues with a tenant, or the tenant has now become a nuisance, the landlord may terminate the agreement, avoiding potential repercussions of breaking a long-term lease. For tenants, a month to month lease is great for contractors or individuals whose job requires them to relocate often. Once either the tenant or landlord wish to terminate the lease, it is important to terminate the agreement with written notice in sufficient time.
Georgia Minimum Termination Period – 30 Days from Tenant, 60 Days from Landlord.
Georgia Month to Month Lease Laws – § 44-7-7
According to Georgia State Law, if a tenant wishes to terminate a month to month lease agreement must be terminated at least 30 days before the lease is up. If a landlord wishes to terminate a month to month lease agreement, he or she must notify the tenant of the termination at least 60 days before the termination will become effective.