New Hampshire month-to-month lease agreements must comply with Section 540 of New Hampshire Statutes. New Hampshire’s Office of the Attorney General provides a plain-English explanation regarding renting, security deposits, and evictions that explains how state laws apply to these rental agreements. If the security deposit for a month-to-month lease agreement is for a rental unit that is less than six units, the landlord may ask for no more than one month’s rent or $100, whichever is more. The landlord must inform the renter which bank the security deposit is kept in. If the month-to-month residential lease agreement lasts for more than a year, the landlord must pay the tenant interest on the security deposit. The landlord may use the security deposit if the renter does not pay their rent, the renter’s share of the real estate taxes if the month-to-month rental agreement includes this provision, and the cost of repairing the rental property outside of normal wear and tear.
Landlords and property managers must understand both state laws and federal laws that affect New Hampshire lease agreements. If you have questions before renting to a new tenant, you should seek legal advice.
According to § 540:2, the notice period for a New Hampshire month-to-month lease agreement is 30 days. The party submitting it must use a written notice.