The Most Commonly Used Tennessee Lease Agreements
The most commonly used Tennessee lease agreements are the standard residential lease agreement, a month to month lease agreement, a roommate agreement, a sublease agreement, a lease to own agreement, and a commercial lease agreement.
How to Write a Standard Tennessee Lease Agreement
To write a standard Tennessee lease agreement, you’ll need:
- The legal name of both the landlord and the tenant
- The street address of the leased property as well as the city and the county
- The length of the term (including the beginning and ending date)
- The amount of rent that will be paid over the life of the lease, the amount that will be paid each month, the date the rent is due, how rent may be paid, when rent is considered late, the amount of any late fee, and the amount of any NSF fee
- The amount of security deposit paid by the tenant
- How the premises may be used
- The condition of the premises upon move in
- Whether subletting is allowed
- The types of alterations and improvements that may be made
- Which utilities the tenant should pay
- How the tenant may request repairs
- The landlord’s right to inspect the premises
- What happens if the premises is damaged
- What happens if the tenant remains past the end of the lease
- Whether pets are allowed
- Addresses of the tenant and landlord for legal notices
A Tennessee lease agreement must be signed and dated by both the landlord and the tenant.
What Disclosures Must Be Made in Tennessee Lease Agreements?
Landlords are required to disclose the identity of any agent allowed onto the premises. They must also provide an address for legal notices. The landlord must give at least 24 hours of notice to the tenant to show the property before the end of the lease. However, for the landlord to have the power to show the property while the tenant is still residing on the property, that must be listed specifically in the lease.
What You Need to Know about Tennessee Lease Deposits
There is no state law that caps the amount the landlord can request as a security deposit. The security deposit must be returned to the tenant within 30 days of the end of the lease.