Tennessee month-to-month lease agreements are governed by the Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act, located in Chapter 28 of the Tennessee Code. Security deposits must be returned to the tenant within 30 days of leaving or abandoning the rental property or seven days after a new tenant moves into the property. The landlord may use the security deposit to take care of non-payment of rent, but must inform the tenant and give them 60 days to respond. If there is no response from the tenant, then they may use the security deposit for that purpose according to § 66-28-301. The security deposit may also be used to repair damage to the property according to state law.
It is important that landlords and prospective tenants understand the laws regarding real estate in the State of Tennessee before signing this type of legal document.
According to § 66-28-512, Tennessee month-to-month lease agreements require a lease termination to use a written notice of 30 days.