Create a West Virginia Lease Agreement with our attorney-drafted template!
A West Virginia lease agreement is a written contract between a landlord and a tenant. The landlord agrees to lease the mentioned property to the tenant. The tenant agrees to pay the landlord a monthly fee for the life of the lease in return for that use. All leases in West Virginia must be in compliance with landlord-tenant laws.
In West Virginia, the most commonly used leases are residential leases: the annual standard lease, the month-to-month agreement, a lease to own agreement, a roommate agreement, and a sublease agreement.
A standard West Virginia lease agreement is usually in place for 12 months. The common information found in the agreement is:
West Virginia lease agreements must be signed and dated to be legally enforceable.
If any fees collected are non-refundable, that must be disclosed to the tenant inside of the lease agreement. If the residential dwelling was built before 1978, the landlord must provide a lead paint disclosure.
There is no limit as to how much a landlord may require tenants to pay as a security deposit. The landlord must return the deposit within 60 days of the end of tenancy. However, if the landlord rents out the property within 45 days, the deposit must be returned at that time.