Most Commonly Used Alaska Lease Agreements
The most commonly used Alaska lease agreements include commercial lease agreements, a residential lease agreement (this can include a month to month lease agreement or standard lease agreement), and a lease to own agreement. Roommates agreements are another form of lease agreement as are sublease agreements. However, you should speak with the landlord and ensure that having a roommate or subleasing the property is permitted.
How to Write an Alaska Lease Agreement
Writing an Alaska lease agreement can be easy. It should include the answers to the following questions:
- When was the Alaska lease agreement created?
- What is the name of the tenant(s) and the landlord (or property management company)?
- What city or town is the property located in?
- What is the address of the property?
- How can the property be used? (For example, is it a commercial property or a residential unit?)
- What is the term for lease? (For example, 30 days / month-to-month, yearly, or another specific amount of time; you should use the start and end date of the lease.)
- Is the lease renewable? If so, how does it renew?
- How much is the payment each month? How does the tenant pay?
- Is there a security deposit or pet deposit? If so, how much? How does the tenant get this money back?
- Are pets allowed? If so, are there pet restrictions based on type of pet, size, or weight?
- Did you remember to list the name and address of both the landlord and the tenant? This is required by law.
Finally, an Alaska lease agreement should be signed and dated by both the tenant(s) and the landlord.
Which Disclosures Belong in an Alaska Lease Agreement?
Under Alaska state law, the following disclosures must be made by the landlord:
- Absence. If the tenant is going to be away from the property for seven days or longer, Alaska state law says that the landlord must be notified.
- Identification. The landlord is required under Alaska state law to identify and rely on the person authorized to receive notices or demands on behalf of the tenant. This could be the tenant, the spouse of a tenant, or another authorized individual.
- When a landlord can withhold the security deposit. Under Alaska state law, a landlord must explain that they have the option to withhold the security deposit for the reasons listed in the lease.
- When a landlord may enter the property. Alaska landlord-tenant law states that the landlord must give 24 hours notice to the tenant to enter the premises.
Under federal law, Alaska landlords must also disclose the potential exposure to lead-based paint if the housing unit was built prior to 1978.
What You Need to Know about Alaska Lease Agreement Deposits
Under state law, Alaska lease agreements can only charge a maximum of two months' rent as a security deposit unless the amount is more than $2,000. Additionally, if the tenant vacates the premises on time or properly terminates the lease, the landlord has 14 days in which to return the deposit. Landlords get 30 days if the tenant did not properly terminate the lease agreement.