The Alaska Rental Application Process
The Alaska rental application allows landlords to verify a prospective tenant's background information and credit history before signing a lease agreement. In Alaska, there is no maximum application fee; landlords may charge as much as they think is fair and the fee is not refundable.
In Alaska, the security deposit for approved tenants may not exceed two (2) months’ rent. If the monthly rent is more than $2,000, however, this limit does not apply. The landlord may also charge an additional pet deposit of up to one (1) month's rent, but only if the pet is not a service animal. The rental application fee is separate from the security deposit and pet deposit.
Need a roommate? Then you need a roommate agreement! Download a free roommate agreement now!
A Sample Alaska Rental Application with Examples for Each Step
The rental application should include the following sections:
Prospective Property Information including address and rent
- Name of Applicant
Contact Information including phone number(s), and email address
- Date of Birth
- Social Security Number
- Driver's License Number
Current Address including dates in/out, the reason for moving, rental amount, landlord name, and contact information
Previous Address including dates in/out, the reason for moving, rental amount, landlord name, and contact information
Employment and Income Information including current occupation, current position, dates of employment, employer, address, phone, name of supervisor, and monthly salary, and previous occupation, position, dates of employment, employer, address, phone, name of supervisor, and monthly salary
Other income Description including monthly income
Emergency Contacts name, relationship to applicant, address, phone number
Personal References name, relationship to applicant, address, phone number
Background Information including applicant's prior willful refusals to pay rent, prior evictions or rent owed after leaving, prior bankruptcy filings, and prior criminal convictions
Other Information including how the tenant heard about the prospective property and a request for additional information that would help evaluate the application
All Other Proposed Occupants names and dates of birth
All Vehicles including make, model, year, and license plate number
Pet Information if any
Dated Agreement and Authorized Signature including the non-refundable application fee and a provision giving consent to a credit/criminal background check
Rental Application Resources for Tenants in Alaska
Alaska Legal Services Corporation
Alaska Legal Services Corporation (ALSC) Fair Housing Enforcement Project
Rural Alaska Community Action Program, Inc.
Alaska Department of Law Consumer Protection Unit
Alaska Rental Application Laws
According to the Alaska Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (AS 34.03.10 - 34.03.360), the most that a landlord may charge for a security deposit is two month’s rent (unless the rent is more than $2,000). Furthermore, the deposit must be returned within 14 days (so long as the tenant has given proper notice; otherwise, the landlord has 30 days).