An Arizona month to month lease agreement is a legal contract that locks in the agreement between a landlord and a tenant. This type of agreement may be legally binding and spells out important details about the agreement such as rent payments, rent amounts, and rules of tenancy. Without the action of either party, this type of agreement will automatically renew at the beginning of each month and act as the standing agreement between the tenant and the lessee for the next month, or until it is terminated. In order to terminate a month to month agreement, either the landlord or tenant would have to notify the other party with a termination letter at least 30 days in advance.
Arizona Month to Month Termination Laws - § 33-1375
Minimum Termination Notice - 30 Days
Arizona law dictates that a month to month lease is to be terminated by the landlord or the tenant at least 30 days before the lease is set to renew. If the tenant remains in the rental beyond the termination date of the lease, Arizona law allows a landlord to pursue the tenant for the equivalent of two (2) month’s rent or twice the amount of the actual damages that the landlord has suffered (whichever is greater).