Most Commonly Used Colorado Lease Agreements
The most commonly used Colorado lease agreements include commercial, residential, annual (standard), month-to-month, roommate agreement, and a sublease. All leases must comply with Colorado state law.
How to Write a Colorado Lease Agreement
Writing a Colorado lease agreement largely depends on the type of lease agreement. While all lease agreements may have some common elements (such as the term of the lease, the amount of rent, and a description of the property), they will have information specific to the type of lease. Finally, a sublease should match the master lease and should not be entered into unless you have the written permission of the landlord. The most common information that must be put into a Colorado lease agreement includes:
- The type of lease (i.e. commercial or residential).
- The landlord's name and full legal address.
- The name of each tenant who will occupy the property (even if they are under 18 and won't be legally responsible for the rent).
- The mailing and physical address of the property.
- The number of bedrooms.
- The number of bathrooms.
- The type of unit (i.e. a condo or an apartment).
- The purpose for the lease (i.e. residential lease).
- Whether the unit is furnished. If it is furnished, the landlord should specify the furnishings.
- Whether appliances are provided. If so, the landlord should list the appliances provided.
- The starting date and ending date of the lease.
- The amount of rent.
- When the rent is due.
- How the rent should be remitted to the landlord.
- What happens if a check is returned unpaid to the landlord.
- Whether there are late fees for past due rent or bounced checks. If so, the amount of those fees.
- Whether there is a grace period for rent.
- Whether the tenant is providing the first month's rent, prepayment of rent, involved in proration of rent, or paying a security deposit.
- How many parking spaces the tenant will receive.
- How long the tenants have to move if the property is placed up for sale.
- Which utilities, if any, are paid by the landlord.
- How to request maintenance, repairs, or alterations.
- If early termination may apply.
- If pets are allowed. If so, how many? Is there a deposit? What is the deposit amount? Are there any pet restrictions?
- A policy related to having guests stay on the property.
- If the property is nonsmoking.
- If waterbeds are allowed.
- The name and address of both the landlord and the tenant for providing legal notice.
- The name and address of any individual allowed to act as the landlord's agent.
- How much money is due at signing.
- Dated signature of the landlord and the tenant(s).
Which Disclosures Belong in a Colorado Lease Agreement?
Colorado doesn't require landlords to provide tenants with any specific disclosures. However, if a residential unit was built before 1978, federal law requires that you provide a lead-paint hazard disclosure.
What You Need to Know about Colorado Lease Agreement Deposits
In Colorado, there is no maximum security deposit set by law. If the lease doesn't specifically mention when the security deposit will be returned, is must be returned within one month. However, any mention of a return in the lease may not exceed 60 days. Additionally, if the tenant broke the lease because of a hazard condition, they must receive their money back within 72 hours.