Create a Kansas Lease Agreement with our attorney-drafted template!
A Kansas lease agreement is a legal agreement between a property owner (referred to as the landlord but may also be a property management company tasked with caring for the property) and the tenant(s) wanting to use the property. The purpose of a Kansas lease agreement is to explain the obligations of the party signing the lease.
The most commonly used Kansas lease agreements are a standard residential lease agreement, a commercial lease agreement, a lease to own agreement, and a month-to-month agreement. A roommate agreement is another common version of a Kansas lease agreement.
If you plan to write a standard Kansas lease agreement, you must ensure that it complies with Kansas landlord-tenant law. The common information that belongs on a Kansas lease agreement is:
Both the landlord and the tenant should keep a copy of the executed Kansas lease agreement.
Kansas lease agreements must include specific disclosures. Any person authorized by the landlord to enter the premises must be identified in the lease agreement. The lease agreement must also disclose addresses where involved parties can receive legal notices. During the first five days of tenancy, the landlord and the tenant must conduct a walk-through and itemize any pre-existing problems or necessary repairs.
The landlord must also give reasonable notice to the tenant if they plan to access the property. They must also enter the premises only during reasonable hours.
Under federal law, it a residential property was built prior to 1978, the landlord is required to disclose the potential of lead paint.
According to Kansas state law, the maximum for a security deposit is one month’s rent if the property is unfurnished and one and a half month’s rent if the property is furnished. Landlords must return the security deposit within 30 days of the end of the lease. If the landlord kept money from the deposit, they must provide a list of itemized deductions within 14 days.