Kansas Statutes Chapter 58 Article 25 Landlords and Tenants governs month-to-month leases. More specifically, §2501 includes specific terms of the lease in a tenancy at will (month-to-month residential lease agreement). A security deposit for an unfurnished rental property may not be more than one month’s rent according to §2550. If the real estate is furnished, the security deposit may not be more than one and a half month’s rent. The landlord may keep some or all of the security deposit for nonpayment of rent, to repair damages to the rental property that exceed normal wear and tear, or for “other legally allowable charges under the provisions of the rental agreement.” The security deposit balance must be returned to the renter within 14 to 30 days of move out. The landlord must provide an itemized statement of deductions regarding the condition of the premises.
Landlords and property managers may wish to seek legal advice to better understand federal law, the laws of the State of Kansas, and housing codes.
According to §2570, the notice period for a Kansas month-to-month lease is 30 days. State law makes an exception for active-duty military members who must move due to deployment or because they are being stationed stateside. Then, they may give a 15 days' notice. The lease termination must be a written notice.