Make a Free Louisiana Month to Month Lease Agreement

Create a Louisiana Month to Month Lease Agreement with our customizable template!

What Is a Louisiana Month-to-Month Lease Agreement?

A Louisiana month-to-month lease is a short-term rental agreement between the landlord and tenant. The tenancy arrangement renews at the beginning of each month. Although it is technically only a 30-day residential lease agreement, the parties may find that the leasing relationship is so beneficial that they make it an indefinite arrangement.

A month-to-month rental agreement must comply with Louisiana landlord-tenant law. In addition to complying with Louisiana law, it should also include all of the same provisions as a fixed-term lease or standard lease, including:

  • The amount of the monthly rent and when it is due
  • The late fee amount
  • The security deposit amount
  • Rent increase
  • Whether subletting the rental property is allowed by the renter
  • Occupancy information
  • The parking policy
  • The pet policy
  • The notice period for lease termination for move out
  • How to deliver a written notice
  • Information about the eviction process

What Laws Apply to Louisiana Month-to-Month Lease Agreements?

Several portions of the Louisiana code govern Louisiana month-to-month lease agreements. Primarily, state laws La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 9:3251 through 9:3261 and La. Civ. Code. Ann. art. 2668 through 2729. Security deposits are not limited by state law. However, the landlord must return the security deposit to the tenant within 30 days of moving out.

Landlords and property managers may find seeking legal advice beneficial because Louisiana landlord-tenant laws are complex. Understanding these laws is crucial to protecting your interest before entering into Louisiana rental lease agreements with a new tenant.

Terminating a Louisiana Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

Under La. Civ. Code. ann. Art. 2728, the notice period for the lease termination of a Louisiana month-to-month lease agreement is ten days before the end of the month. The ten days' notice must be calendar days according to state law. A lease termination must be a written notice.

Download a PDF or Word Template

Louisiana Month to Month Lease Agreement

Louisiana Lease Agreement

Louisiana Rental Application

Louisiana Rent Receipt