In South Dakota, a month to month lease agreement is a legal document that officiates tenancy on a month to month basis. Although the lease only carries a commitment of one month at a time, it renews at the beginning of each month and will continue to do so until the lease is canceled by the landlord or the tenant. Month to month lease agreements are very similar to long term leases in terms of format and contain much of the same type of information that one would find in a long term lease such as agreements on rent amount, due dates, late fees if rent is not paid on time, the landlord’s rules of occupancy, and other provisions such as parking and laundry. When a landlord or tenant wishes to terminate the lease, a termination letter must be written and given to the other party. In addition, this letter, also known as a Notice to Quit, must be submitted at least 30 days before the termination will take effect.
South Dakota Month to Month Lease Laws - § 43-32-13
Minimum Termination Period - For tenants - 15 days; for landlords - 30 days
In South Dakota, both tenants and landlords can terminate a month to month lease agreement at any time. If a tenant terminates a month to month lease agreement, the law dictates that he or she must provide the landlord a 15-day notice. If a landlord decides to terminate the agreement, the law dictates that he or she must provide the tenant with a 30-day notice.