Build a document in minutes with our step-by-step tool.
Create a free account.
Print and download.
In the state of Texas, a month to month lease agreement is a legal document that allows a person to rent an apartment or property on a month to month basis. These types of agreements are extremely flexible for both the landlord and the tenant and can be terminated with just a 30-day notice, according to state law. These documents differ from traditional long term leases in the sense that they renew at the beginning of each month until canceled by either the landlord or tenant. Month to month agreements are very similar to long term leases and contain the same type of information that one would find in a long term lease such as rent amount, due dates, late fees, rules of occupancy, assigned parking and other tenant provisions. When a landlord or tenant wishes to terminate the lease, a termination letter must be written and given to the other party to effectively notify the other party that the agreement is ending.
Texas Month to Month Lease Laws - § 91.001
Minimum Termination Period - 30 Days
In the state of Texas, a month to month lease may only be terminated via termination letter, also known as a Notice to Quit. if the notice is coming from the landlord or the tenant, it must be submitted at least 30 days from the date of termination.