In Washington, the most commonly used residential lease agreements are the annual standard lease agreement, the month-to-month agreement, lease to own agreement, an agreement between roommates, and a sublease agreement.
Writing a standard Washington lease agreement will depend on whether you are within or outside of Seattle city limits. Here’s some basic information about what’s included in both (remember to review Seattle city laws about the differences):
The lease agreement must be signed and dated by both the landlord and the tenant. Remember, you’ll need specific provisions depending on where you live in Washington. This is just meant to help you get started.
Under Washington law, the following must be disclosed to the tenant:
The landlord is also required to give the tenant at least 2 days’ notice for repairs and 1 day of notice if they are showing the property.
There is no maximum on how much the landlord may request as a security deposit. The deposit must be returned within 14 days of the tenant vacating the property.