Washington’s landlord-tenant laws are found in RCW 59. RCW 59.18 specifically explains the State’s residential landlord-tenant act. It is a great place to start to learn more about tenancy in Washington. It is important to note that RCW 59.20 is dedicated to manufactured homes and mobile homes.
Under state law, any nonrefundable fees may not be designated as part of the security deposit for a yearly or month-to-month rental agreement.
Additionally, under state law, victims of domestic violence may also notify their landlord and move out and vacate the rental unit without fulfilling their lease, including a month-to-month tenancy, as long as they meet specific requirements listed in RCW 59.18.580.
The City of Seattle often has ordinances that differ. If you have a residential lease agreement in that area, please consult local laws as well.
The notice period for lease termination of a month-to-month lease agreement is 20 days' notice according to RCW 59.18.200. This must be a written notice. However, there are several exclusions in Washington state, such as a member of the armed forces (including the National Guard or reserves). If the landlord plans to change an apartment into a condominium as a form of ownership, the landlord is required to give the renter a written notice of at least 120 days.