The Alabama Residential Landlord and Tenant Act governs month-to-month lease agreements. According to §35-9A-201, the landlord may not charge more than one month’s rent as a security deposit unless there are pets, changes to the rental unit, or things that create an increase in liability. The landlord may keep some or all of the security deposit if the renter does not pay the month's rent, damage to the property beyond normal wear and tear, or damage caused by the tenant’s noncompliance with the tenant month-to-month lease. If the landlord keeps any money out of the security deposit, the landlord must provide the renter with an itemized receipt. The landlord must return the security deposit within 60 days of moving out.
Landlords and property managers must understand state laws and federal laws because they impact Alabama lease agreements. It is wise to get legal advice since leasing real estate provides rights and obligations to the parties.
According to §35-9A-441, the notice period for the lease termination of an Alabama month-to-month lease is 30 days. Under state law, it must be a written notice.