Arkansas’s landlord-tenant laws are located in Title 18 Subtitle 2 Chapter 16 Landlord and Tenant. According to §18-16-304, the most a landlord may charge as a security deposit is two months’ rent. The landlord must return the security deposit within 60 days of moving out according to §18-16-305. However, the landlord may also use the security deposit for unpaid rent and noncompliance with the residential lease agreement. If the landlord keeps any of the security deposit, they must provide the renter with an itemized receipt.
Landlords and property managers should understand state laws and federal laws because they impact their rights and the rights of the new tenants. They should seek legal advice when it becomes necessary to do so.
According to §18-17-704, the notice period for a lease termination of an Arkansas month-to-month is 30 days. It must be a written notice.