Most Commonly Used Connecticut Lease Agreements
The most commonly used Connecticut lease agreements include commercial, standard residential, month-to-month, lease to own, roommate agreement, and a sublease agreement. All Connecticut lease agreements are subject to state law.
How to Write a Connecticut Lease Agreement
To write a Connecticut lease agreement, you must gather certain information. The most common elements of a residential lease include:
- The date of the Connecticut lease agreement was drafted.
- Whether the lease is for a house or apartment.
- The street address, city, state, and zip code of the property.
- Whether there is parking included.
- The term of the lease. For example, is the lease an annual lease or is it month-to-month? You'll want to include the date the lease starts and when it ends.
- The amount of the rent, when it is due, and how it should be paid.
- The amount of any late fee if the rent is late.
- How the premises may be used, the number of guests, and how long any guests will be allowed to stay.
- Whether pets are allowed. If so, the lease should explain if there are any restrictions and if there is a pet deposit.
- The obligations of the tenant as related to the condition of the premises. For example, is the tenant responsible for keeping the walkways free of obstructions or snow?
- When the landlord may enter the premises.
- The utilities that the tenant is required to pay.
- Whether the tenant can make changes or improvements to the property. If so, who will pay for the changes?
- What the landlord is responsible to handle in regards for the property.
- What the tenant will be reimbursed for.
- Whether the tenant is responsible for carrying insurance.
- How the lease may be terminated.
- A dated signature from both the landlord and the tenant.
What Disclosures Belong in a Connecticut Lease Agreement?
According to state law, Connecticut lease agreements must include the following disclosures:
In addition to the disclosures required by state law, there is a federal disclosure for lead-based paint that is required if a housing unit was built before 1978.
What You Need to Know about Connecticut Lease Agreement Deposits
According to Connecticut law, the landlord cannot charge more than two months' rent as a security deposit from persons under the age of 62 years. For those 62 years and older, the landlord may not charge more than one' month of rent for a security deposit.
Security deposits must be returned, along with any accrued interest, within 30 days of the landlord reclaiming the property or within 15 days of receiving a forwarding address, whichever is later.