The Connecticut Rental Application Process
The Connecticut rental application allows landlords to verify a prospective tenant's background information and credit history before signing a lease agreement. In Connecticut, there is no maximum application fee; landlords may charge as much as they think is fair. The application fee is non-refundable.
The security deposit for approved tenants in Connecticut may not exceed two (2) months’ rent. Approved tenants who are over the age of 65 may only be asked to pay one (1) month's rent as a security deposit. A Connecticut landlord may also charge an additional security deposit for a pet.
Need a roommate? Then you need a roommate agreement! Download a free roommate agreement now!
A Sample Connecticut Rental Application with Examples for Each Step
The rental application should include the following sections:
Prospective Property including the type of unit, address, and unit number (if any)
Personal Information about the Applicant including full name, date of birth, social security number, driver's license number/state or Connecticut state ID, address, phone number, email address, and additional family members living in the unit
Rental History the three most recent addresses or past five years, including address, how long at each address, name and phone number of owner/manager
Income/Employment History including current/previous employer(s), address, position, employment dates, supervisor name and phone number, type(s) of other income, monthly income, name, address, and phone number of provider, bank and credit card accounts
Roommate Information including full name(s) and relationship to the prospective tenant
Pet Information if any; if there are any restrictions regarding pets on the property, they must be listed in the application
Vehicle(s) including make, model, year, color, and license plate number/state
Personal References and Emergency Contact including name, address, phone number, and relationship to the applicant
Personal History including smoking status, prior felony convictions, prior bankruptcies, and prior evictions
Dated Agreement and Authorized Signature including permission to contact all references on the application, consent to a credit/criminal background check, and acknowledgment of the non-refundable application fee
Resources for Tenants in Connecticut
Connecticut Fair Housing Center
New Haven Legal Assistance Association, Inc.
Connecticut Rental Application Laws
According to Connecticut Tenant Laws, a landlord may not demand a security deposit of more than two (2) months rent for tenants less than 62 years of age. For tenants over the age of 62, a landlord may not demand a deposit equal to more than one (1) month’s rent. Furthermore, a landlord must return the security deposit (less any fees), no later than 30 days after the lease is terminated (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 47a-21).