Connecticut month-to-month leases are governed by Title 47a Landlord and Tenant. It is broken down as follows:
Under §831-47a-21b, the amount of security deposit that a landlord may charge depends on the age of the Connecticut tenant. If the tenant is under 62 years old, the landlord cannot charge more than two months’ rent as a security deposit. If the tenant is older than 62 years old, the landlord cannot charge more than one months’ rent as a security deposit. The landlord can retain some or all of the security deposit for damages to the rental unit that exceed normal wear and tear or other damages. The landlord must return the security deposit and its accrued interest to the tenant within 15 days of move out.
Connecticut state law does not explicitly require a notice period for lease termination of a month-to-month lease. It does, however, provide specific rights to victims of domestic or family violence who need to end their lease. Under §47a-11e, a victim of domestic violence, family violence, or sexual assault may end their lease early if they fear imminent harm. They may not be penalized by the landlord. However, they must provide a specific written notice according to Connecticut state law.