Build a document in minutes with our step-by-step tool.
Create a free account.
Print and download.
A Connecticut eviction notice is used by a landlord or property management company when a tenant violates their lease in some way. They are commonly known as a notice to quit. An eviction notice is the first step in the legal eviction process. If a landlord or property management company wants to file a lawsuit against the tenant for violating the lease, they cannot do so unless they first serve the tenant with an eviction notice.
Connecticut eviction notices are generally issued because of non-payment of rent or for non-compliance with the terms of the lease. An eviction notice, also known as a notice to quit, need to have certain components:
Eviction notices may be served personally to the tenant, given to a member of the household or an employee at their place of business provided that they are a suitable age, or sent to the tenant via first-class mail.
3-Day Notice to Quit Possession for Non-Payment and Non-Compliance
A Connecticut 3-day notice to quit possession for non-payment of rent means that the tenant did not pay their rent. Connecticut landlord-tenant law states that rent is due on whatever date is specified in the agreement. However, a late fee may not be charged until nine days after rent is late. For this sort of eviction notice, the landlord must also include:
A 3-day notice to quit possession for non-compliance means that the tenant has done something that is against the rules listed in the lease. The tenant has three days to correct the problem or leave the property. For this sort of eviction notice, the landlord should include:
30-Day Notice to Quit Month-to-Month Tenancy
While a 30-day notice to quit month-to-month tenancy isn’t technically an eviction notice, it does share one similarity. It informs the tenant that the landlord wants to end the lease agreement. In Connecticut, there is no state law that requires the landlord to give a certain amount of notice to end a month-to-month tenancy. Most states require landlords to give the tenant 30-days’ notice if they are a month-to-month tenant. So, while it’s not required in Connecticut, it is a good idea.
This notice should inform the tenant on when the tenant must vacate the premises.
Not all evictions are legal. If a landlord wishes to evict a tenant, they must issue an eviction notice that complies with Connecticut landlord-tenant law. It must give the proper amount of notice and it must be for a legal reason. A landlord may not begin a legal proceeding against the tenant until they’ve been served. Additionally, landlords may not resort to “self-help” methods such as changing the locks or shutting off the utilities. It is also illegal to evict a tenant for discriminatory reasons or in retaliation for the tenant reporting the landlord or the premises for being in violation of state or city safety codes.
Eviction notices must also be legally served. In the State of Connecticut, this means serving the tenant in person, serving the document to someone in the tenant’s household who is of suitable age, serving someone of a suitable age at the tenant’s business, or mailing the eviction notice to the tenant via first-class mail.
The most common eviction notices issued in Connecticut are for failure to pay rent and non-compliance with the lease. Read the eviction notice carefully because it will explain how many days you have to correct the problem. If you’re behind on your rent, it will tell you how much you owe and the deadline by which you must pay. State law says that landlords may not charge late fees until you are nine days late on your rent.
Landlords may not change the locks or remove your belongings from the premises until they’ve received a court order. An eviction notice must be given to you first before a lawsuit can be filed. They may not evict you for retaliatory reasons or for discriminatory reasons. If you have questions or believe that the eviction notice you received is illegal, you have some options. First, if you just have questions, you can contact the landlord. You can also talk with an attorney who works in landlord-tenant law. If you cannot afford a lawyer, look for a legal clinic hosted by a law school. You can also contact the legal aid office closest to you and find out if you meet their criteria for clients. If not, they may be able to point you in the right direction for help.
Eviction notices are required by state law. You cannot file a lawsuit against a tenant in the State of Connecticut for unpaid rent or lease violations unless you’ve had them legally served with an eviction notice. Your eviction notice must contain the components mentioned above. If you have questions about how you can exercise your rights as a landlord to protect your rental property, make an appointment to speak with a qualified Connecticut landlord-tenant lawyer.