Indiana Code Chapter 32 Article 31 Landlord-Tenant Relations governs month-to-month lease agreements. State law does not limit the amount that a landlord may charge as a security deposit. The landlord must return the security deposit to the tenant within 45 days of the move-out. However, according to §32-31-3-13, the landlord may use part or all of the security deposit to repair damages to the rental property that exceed normal wear and tear, nonpayment of rent, to cover the last payment of rent if it is mentioned in the lease agreement, or to reimburse the landlord for utilities as mentioned by the rental agreement or that were not paid by the tenant. If the landlord uses part or all of the security deposit, they must provide the tenant with a list of itemized deductions and estimated costs for the repairs under §32-31-3-14.
Landlords and property managers must have a thorough understanding of Indiana law and federal law to protect their interest in the real estate they are renting out. They should consider seeking legal advice.
Under §32-31-1-1, the notice period for lease termination of an Indiana month-to-month lease is 30 days. It must be a written notice according to state law.