In Iowa, a month to month lease agreement is a contractual agreement between a tenant and a landlord on the renting of a property or unit for the period of one month. These types of agreements are common, especially after the expiration of long term lease contracts, and renew automatically at the beginning of each month if not canceled by the landlord or tenant. Though a month to month lease contract is only valid from one month to the next, its terms must still be followed by both parties. If one party fails to comply with the terms of a month to month lease may result in financial reparations being paid to the other party.
Iowa Month to Month Lease Laws - § 562A.34
Minimum Month to Month Termination Notice - 30 Days
According to Iowa’s month to month lease agreement laws, a landlord must present the tenant with a written termination letter at least 30 days before the termination is to go in effect. Similarly, if a tenant wishes to end his or her lease agreement, he or she must submit a written notice to the landlord notifying him or her that the apartment will be vacated by a certain date. This date must also be at least 30 days from the day the termination letter is dated.