Kentucky Revised Statutes Chapter 383 governs month-to-month lease agreements. However, state law does not limit the amount a landlord may charge a renter as a security deposit. According to KRS §383.580, the landlord must return the security deposit within 30 to 60 days of move out, depending on if the landlord deducts expenses from the deposit for repairs. If the landlord uses the security deposit for repairing the rental property, they must provide the tenant with an itemized list of deductions. The tenant also has the right to inspect the property.
Before renting out real estate for month-to-month tenancy arrangements, landlords and property managers may want to seek legal advice regarding Kentucky law, federal law, and local ordinances. Better understanding these laws and how they affect rental lease agreements will help you understand your rights and obligations. You'll also have a better understanding of what to do during common issues, such as if the tenant fails to make their rent payments on time or follow other lease terms.
According to §383.590, the notice period for lease termination of a Kentucky month-to-month lease is 30 days.