The Kentucky rental application allows landlords to verify a prospective tenant's background information and credit history before signing a lease agreement. In Kentucky, there is no maximum for an application fee; the landlord may ask for any amount and the fee is non-refundable.
Landlords in Kentucky may also ask a prospective tenant any amount for a security deposit; there is no maximum.
Need a roommate? Then you need a roommate agreement! Download a roommate agreement now!
The rental application should include the following sections:
The Appalachian Research and Defense Fund of Kentucky, Inc. (AppalReD Legal Aid)
Tenant Services & Housing Counseling, Inc.
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Kentucky has no laws that delegate how much a landlord may require for a security deposit. Nevertheless, whatever deposit the landlord and the tenant agree to, the landlord must return the deposit to the tenant (minus any fees) within 30 days of the lease being terminated. If the tenant disputes the amount given back to him or her, the landlord has 60 days to return the amount (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 383.580).