Michigan month-to-month lease agreements are governed by Michigan Revised Statutes Chapter 554.131 to 201 and 554.601 to 554.641. Security deposits are limited by state law to the amount of one and a half month’s rent. The landlord must return the security deposit to the renter within 30 days of their move out. Within four days of moving out, the renter must provide their new address to the landlord to receive their security deposit. Otherwise, the landlord does not have an obligation to return it under Michigan law. If the landlord has the renter’s new address, the landlord then has 30 days to return the security deposit from the date of the move-out. If the landlord deducts repairs from the security deposit, they must provide the tenant with an itemized list of those deductions and include a specifically worded notice.
Michigan law for month-to-month tenancy arrangements may differ from Detroit ordinances. As a landlord or property manager, it is imperative that you are familiar with the rules and regulations at the federal, state, and city-level where the real estate is located. Seek legal advice if necessary to learn more about leasing.
Under §554.134, the notice period for a Michigan month-to-month lease agreement is 30 days. However, if the tenant fails to pay rent, the landlord may give a seven days notice. Lease termination must be a written notice.