The Most Commonly Used Nebraska Lease Agreements
The most commonly used Nebraska lease agreements include a standard residential lease agreement, a month-to-month lease agreement, a lease to own agreement, a sublease, a roommate agreement, and a commercial lease agreement.
How to Write a Standard Nebraska Lease Agreement
A standard Nebraska lease agreement usually last for a period of one year. Sometimes, they renew as another yearly lease. Sometimes they turn to a month-to-month agreement. It’s important that a Nebraska lease agreement comply with the state’s landlord-tenant law. To write your own standard lease agreement, you’ll need to include the following information:
- The landlord’s full name.
- The tenant’s full name.
- The date that the standard lease agreement was created.
- The address of the property including the city, state, and zip code.
- How long the lease agreement will last as well as the date the lease goes into effect and the date it ends.
- The amount of any late charge that will be applied if the rent is not received on time, the due date for the rent, and when the rent is considered late.
- The amount of any NSF fee that will be due if the tenant’s check bounces.
- The amount of the security deposit paid by the tenant.
- How many occupants will live with the tenant.
- Which utilities and services are provided by the landlord and which utilities and services are provided by the tenant.
- The amount that the tenant must pay each month if they decide to remain on the property after the lease ends. This is known as a holdover.
- How many days the tenant may be away from the property before it’s considered an extended absence.
- Whether there’s assigned parking. If so, how many spaces?
- How many keys the tenant will receive for the unit, a mailbox, or any other secured part of the premises.
- Whether pets are allowed. If so, the amount paid as a deposit and any restrictions on breed, size, type, or number of pets.
- Any other additional terms and conditions for the lease.
Remember that a standard Nebraska lease must be signed and dated by both the landlord and the tenant. Both parties should receive a copy of the lease after it’s signed.
What Disclosures Must Be Made in a Nebraska Lease Agreement?
The landlord must disclose the identity of anyone allowed to enter the premises on their behalf. These individuals are usually referred to as an authorized agent. The landlord must also provide an address where they may receive legal notices. The landlord and any agent must also give the tenant at least 24 hours’ notice before they enter the property for a non-emergency reason.
If the residential unit was built before 1978, federal law states you must provide a lead paint disclosure.
What You Need to Know about Nebraska Lease Agreement Deposits
Under state law, Nebraska lease agreements may not request more than one month of rent as a security deposit. For pet deposits, the landlord may not ask for more than an additional 25% of rent. The security deposit must be returned to the tenant within 14 days of moving out.