Month-to-month leases are governed by Nebraska’s Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act (Article 14, Section 76). According to § 74-1416, a security deposit cannot be more than one month of rent except when there is a pet. When move out occurs, the landlord can use the security deposit to cover the month's rent if it is unpaid, damages to the rental unit, or other noncompliance. The landlord must provide an itemized list of deductions to the renter and the remainder of the security deposit balance within 14 days of the lease termination or move out to their last known mailing address.
Landlords and property managers must understand state laws, federal laws, and housing codes for month-to-month tenancy arrangements. If necessary, seek legal advice before entering into a residential lease agreement. Seeking advice will help protect your legal interest in the real estate during the lease term.
Under § 76-1437, the notice period for lease termination is 30 days. Nebraska lease agreements must be terminated with a written notice.