New York month-to-month lease agreements are governed by Article 7 of the Real Property Code, Landlord-Tenant laws. Under state law, the landlord may not charge more than one month’s rent as a security deposit except for rental property subject to the City Rent and Rehabilitation Law or the Emergency Housing Rent Control Law. The landlord has 14 days after the tenant moves out of the rental unit to return the security deposit. If the landlord plans to deduct anything from the deposit (such as non-payment of rent), they must provide the renter with advanced notice.
Landlords and property managers must understand that New York City has laws that govern month-to-month rental agreements and evictions for the real estate. Seek legal advice to ensure you understand both state law and federal law.
Under §232-B, the notice period for lease termination of a month-to-month lease agreement is 30 days (one month's notice) for locations outside of New York City. Whichever party wishing to submit the document must ensure it is a written notice.