The Most Commonly Used North Dakota Lease Agreements
The most commonly used North Dakota lease agreements are a standard residential lease agreement (usually good for 12 months), a month-to-month lease, a roommate agreement, a sublease agreement, a lease to own agreement, and a commercial lease agreement.
How to Write a Standard North Dakota Lease Agreement
The information that you must include in a standard North Dakota lease agreement for a residential unit includes:
- An "Offer to Rent" that lists the full name of the landlord and tenant, the leased premises (including the city), the starting date of the lease term, and the end of the lease term.
- A section that explains the amount of rent that will be paid over the lease agreement, the amount that will be paid monthly, when rent is due, how rent can be paid, and where rent can be paid.
- If the rent was prorated, the amount paid and the date the tenant took possession should be included.
- The amount of the security deposit and any pet deposit.
- How the tenant may take possession.
- Whether subletting is allowed.
- What is considered abandonment of the property.
- The landlord’s right to entry under North Dakota law.
- Which utilities and services the tenant will pay and which ones the landlord will pay.
- How the tenant can request repairs or alterations.
- Whether pets are allowed and if there are any pet restrictions.
- Whether the unit is furnished or includes appliances.
- The number of occupants allowed on the property as well as the names and ages of the occupants.
- A section where the landlord and tenant can list an address to receive notices.
The lease must be dated and signed by the tenant and the landlord or it isn’t legally binding.
What Disclosures Must Be Made in a North Dakota Lease Agreement?
Under North Dakota law, the landlord must provide a property checklist for the tenant to detail the condition of the premises when they move in. The landlord must provide the tenant with reasonable notice to enter the property. The landlord must also only enter the property during reasonable hours of the day.
If the residential property is built before 1978, federal law requires the landlord to provide a lead paint disclosure.
What You Need to Know about North Dakota Lease Agreement Deposits
The landlord must deposit the security deposit into an interest-bearing savings of checking account. The interest should be returned to the tenant along with the security deposit. The landlord cannot request more than one month of rent for a residential unit with no pets and no more than two months of rent (not to exceed $2,500) if a pet will be allowed. The security deposit must be returned to the tenant within 30 days of the end of the lease.