In North Dakota, a month to month lease agreement is a legal document that allows a landlord to lease a rental property or apartment to a tenant for a period of one month. These contracts work well for both the tenant and the landlord because the lease will renew automatically at the beginning of each month until either the landlord or the tenant decides to terminate the agreement. Month to month leases are essentially the same as a traditional yearlong lease, containing all the same information, such as when rent payments are due, where rent is to be paid, rules of tenancy and so forth. Once the landlord or tenant wants to terminate the lease, he or she may do so with a written notice no less than 30 days in advance.
North Dakota Month to Month Lease Laws - § 47-16-07.2
North Dakota Minimum Termination Period - 30 Days
In North Dakota, anyone who wants to terminate a month to month agreement must do so at least one (1) month before the lease is intended to terminate. Also known as a notice to quit, this notice is not only to be written at least 30 days in advance but also delivered to the other party at least 30 days in advance.