Create a Rhode Island Lease Agreement with our attorney-drafted template!
A Rhode Island lease agreement is a written contract between a landlord and a tenant. The tenant promises to pay an amount to use the property listed in the agreement. The landlord agrees to allow the tenant to lease the property in exchange for that monthly fee. All Rhode Island lease agreements must comply with the Rhode Island Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.
The most commonly used Rhode Island lease agreements are a standard lease agreement (usually with a lease term for 12 months), a month-to-month lease agreement, a roommate agreement, a lease to own agreement, a subletting agreement, and a commercial lease agreement.
Standard Rhode Island lease agreements can be quite lengthy because of the information that must be included. The information includes:
The landlord and the tenant must both sign the lease and date their signatures.
In Rhode Island, landlords must disclose code violations (such as building code violations) to the tenant. The landlord must disclose the identity of any person allowed to act as a manager or agent on their behalf. If the residential unit was built before 1978, the landlord must disclose the potential exposure to lead paint.
The landlord must give the tenant at least two days of notice before entering the property for standard maintenance or inspection. The landlord can only enter the property during reasonable hours.
The landlord may request up to one month of rent as a security deposit. It must be returned within 20 days of the end of the lease minus any unpaid rent or repairs made to the property.