In Rhode Island, a month to month lease agreement is a legal document that officiates tenancy for a period of one month. Although the lease only carries a commitment of one month, it renews at the beginning of each month and will continue to do so until the lease is canceled by the landlord or the tenant. Month to month lease agreements are very similar to long term leases in terms of format and contain much of the same type of information that one would find in a long term lease such as agreements on rent amount, due dates, late fees if rent is not paid on time, the landlord’s rules of occupancy, and other provisions such as parking and laundry. When a landlord or tenant wishes to terminate the lease, a termination letter must be written and given to the other party. In addition, this letter, also known as a Notice to Quit, must be submitted at least 30 days before the termination will take effect.
Rhode Island Month to Month Lease Laws - § 34-18-37
Minimum Termination Period - 30 Days
In Rhode Island, a month to month lease agreement must be terminated via termination letter at least 30 days before the termination is to take effect. This notice must be in writing and submitted to the other party in order for the 30 day countdown to begin.