Several Idaho landlord-tenant laws govern month-to-month lease agreements. They are primarily found in Idaho Statutes §6-301, §6-321, and §55-208. According to §6-321, which discusses security deposits, there is no statutory limitation on how much a landlord can charge as a security deposit. However, the law states that the security deposit must be refunded to the tenant within no more than 30 days of moving out. The landlord can keep part of the security deposit for specific reasons listed in the security deposit or if the money is required to repair the rental property for damage that exceeds normal wear and tear.
To better understand the rights and obligations created for prospective tenants and Idaho landlords, landlords should seek legal advice regarding state laws and federal laws. Getting legal advice will help you better protect your interest in your real estate as you enter into rental lease agreements with renters.
According to §55-208, the notice period for lease termination of an Idaho month-to-month lease agreement is 30 days. Idaho law is quite specific in that the 30 days notice must be a written notice.