Maine Statutes Title 14, Chapter 709, Subchapter 1: Residential Landlords and Tenants governs month-to-month lease agreements. According to §6032, a landlord cannot charge a security deposit over two months’ rent. The landlord may retain some or all of the security deposit to store or dispose of the tenant’s personal property, nonpayment of rent or utilities, or repair the rental property for damages that exceed normal wear and tear according to §6033. If the landlord deducts money from the security deposit for any reason, they must provide the renter with an itemized statement. The security deposit must be returned to the tenant within 21 days since it is a month-to-month residential lease agreement (referred to under Maine law as a tenancy at will).
If you are a landlord or property manager, you should seek legal advice about the state laws to determine which disclosure forms you must give out along with the rental lease agreement.
Under §6002, the notice period for lease termination of a Maine month-to-month lease is 30 days. It must be a written notice.