The Maine Rental Application Process
The Maine rental application allows landlords to verify a prospective tenant's background information and credit history before signing a lease agreement. In Maine, there is no maximum for an application fee; the landlord may ask for any amount and the fee is non-refundable. Maine Fair Housing laws prohibit discrimination against an applicant based on race, religion, sexual preference, familial status, national origin, or disability.
Landlords in Maine may not ask for more than two (2) months' rent for a security deposit.
Need a roommate? Then you need a roommate agreement! Download a free roommate agreement now!
A Sample Maine Rental Application with Examples for Each Step
The rental application should include the following sections:
Prospective Property including complete address, type of unit, square footage, number of bedrooms/bathrooms, start date, and monthly rent
Personal Information about the Applicant including full name, date of birth, social security number, photo ID (driver's license number or state ID), current address, phone number/cell phone number, and email address
Rental History for the last three rental addresses, including current/previous address(es), name and phone number of landlord/manager, rent paid, how long they lived at the address, and reason for leaving
Employment History/Income for the last five years for both the applicant and co-applicant/spouse, including current/previous employer(s), address, position, dates of employment, supervisor name and phone number, monthly income, other sources of income, monthly income, name, address, and phone number of provider, bank account(s)/bank balance(s), and credit card accounts
Other Occupants/Roommates including full name, birth date, and relationship to the prospective tenant
Personal References including name, occupation, address, phone number, how long known, and relationship to the prospective tenant; these references should not be related
Emergency Contact including name, address, phone number(s), and relationship to the prospective tenant
Vehicles including make/model, year, and license plate number/state
Pet Information if any; if there are any restrictions or fees regarding pets on the property, they should be listed on the rental application
Personal History/Statement including the need for a service animal or accessibility needs, prior evictions, prior bankruptcies, and prior criminal convictions
Dated Agreement and Authorized Signature including consent to a credit/criminal background check and documentation of the non-refundable application fee
Rental Application Resources for Tenants in Maine
Pine Tree Legal Assistance
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Maine Housing (Maine State Housing Authority)
Maine Legal Services for the Elderly
New Mainers Tenants' Association
City of South Portland
Maine Rental Application Laws
According to Maine’s State Laws, the most that a landlord may charge is the equivalent of two (2) month’s rent, and must return the deposit within 30 days after lease termination; 21 days for “at will” or non-written lease agreements (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, §§ 6031 to 6038).