An Oregon month to month lease agreement is a legal contract between a tenant and a landlord that rents out a property or apartment for the period of one month. These agreements are common, especially after the expiration of long term lease contracts, and renew automatically at the beginning of each month if not canceled by the landlord or tenant. Though a month to month lease contract is only valid from one month to the next, it is still a legal contract that carries the same legal weight as a long term agreement. Once the tenant or landlord wishes to cancel the agreement, he or she must provide the other party with sufficient notice. In the state of Oregon, this is considered a 30-day notice.
Oregon Month to Month Lease Laws - § 91.070
Oregon Minimum Termination Period - 30 Days
In Oregon, a termination notice but be presented, in writing, to the other party at least 30 days from the effective termination date. It is important to note that a lease termination letter does not have to coincide with the lease renewal date. Instead, the letter must simply be submitted at least 30 days before the termination date, whether that be the beginning, middle or end of the month.