A rental application in Oregon is a document that landlords use to find an ideal tenant for their available rental. These documents collect personal information of all applicants in a uniform fashion, and give the landlord an in-depth look into each applicant’s credit, criminal record, financial status and income. WIth such a personal look into an applicant’s credentials, the landlord can make a well-informed decision as to which applicant is most likely to be a responsible tenant who can afford the rent. Applicants are generally charged a fee to process their application (usually less than $100).
Oregon has no state laws that instruct a tenant on how much a security deposit may be, however, whatever deposit the landlord does set, he or she may not increase it unless both the landlord and tenant agree, perhaps to accommodate for a pet. Furthermore, the landlord is to return a deposit in no more than 31 days (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.300).