Wyoming does not have state laws that specifically apply to month-to-month leases. However, there are landlord-tenant laws that govern the use of security deposits. For example, the landlord must provide written notice of any amount of the security deposit that is considered non-refundable under Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1207. Deductions made to the security deposit when lease termination may be applied to nonpayment of rent, damage to the property beyond reasonable wear and tear, costs to clean the rental property, or any other costs mentioned in the Wyoming rental agreement under Wyo. Stat § 1-21-1208. The return of the security deposit must occur within 30 days of lease termination or eviction or within 15 days of the tenant providing the landlord of their new mailing address, whichever is longer according to Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208.
Because there are no Wyoming laws that apply specifically to residential lease agreements that last month to month, the landlord and tenant involved in the agreement should discuss subletting. Any agreement should be reduced to writing so that no misunderstandings occur.
There are no landlord tenants laws that designate how a month-to-month lease termination notice must take place in Wyoming. However, it is most common to terminate a month-to-month rental agreement of this nature to include at least a 30 day written notice by either party wishing to end the agreement.