Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 521 Residential Landlord-Tenant Code governs month-to-month lease agreements. Under §521-44, a landlord cannot charge more than one month’s rent as a security deposit unless the landlord and tenant agree to more in writing; and the tenant provides the landlord with (forty-five) 45 days’ notice that they will be vacating the premises. The landlord can retain the security deposit to repair damages caused by the tenant that exceeds normal wear and tear, for nonpayment of rent, if the renter does not return the keys to the real estate, to clean the rental property, or as compensation, if the tenant leaves the property without proper notice. If the landlord keeps some or all of the security deposit, they must provide the renter with an itemized list of costs or estimates within 14 days.
To better understand state laws and federal laws, landlords and property managers should seek legal advice regarding month-to-month rental agreements.
According to §521-71, the notice period for lease termination for a Hawaii month-to-month lease depends on whether the party providing the written notice is the landlord or the tenant. Landlords must provide a (forty-five) 45-day written notice. Tenants must provide a 28-day written notice.